40th Metro Manila Film Festival Entries – My Early Opinions & Trailer Analysis

Wooh! It’s that time of the year again where the whole family spends days together. Bonding with each other, sharing meals, attending Simbang Gabi`s and watching movies from one of the entries of the yearly event, MMFF or Metro Manila Film Festival. Each year, the festival attracts Filipinos and enthuse them to enjoy Filipino movies more than foreign movies. But since its establishment 40 years ago, only some films are worthy of being part of it even though they were handpicked by a selected group of juries. Shame.

Metro Manila Film Festival tries to revive the movie industry of the Philippines. From the amazing and world renowned Himala starring Nora Aunor and written by Ricky Lee to the blockbuster hits like My Little Bossings  and Girl, Boy, Bakla, Tomboy , the Philippine movie industry had really lost its magic glitters which makes it shine above the foreign movies. This year, many people said it would bring greater successes to the industry as most films that were accepted in the festival are mostly sequels with proven successes but with worse story materials.. eeek…

This year, (as usual) 8 entries were picked from 15. Here are the entries:

  • Bonifacio: Unang Pangulo
    Starring: Robin Padilla, Vina Morales, Daniel Padilla, Eddie Garcia, etc..
    Produced By: Philippians Productions
    Directed By: Enzo Williams
    my early opinion: Sounds similar with Philippine Stagers Foundation’s Bonifacio: Isang Sarswela
  • English Only, Please
    Starring: Derek Ramsey, Jennylyn Mercado
    Produced By: Quantum Films
    Directed By: Dan Villegas
    my early opinion: Kinda interesting from the very first trailer, funny yet smartly written (i think)
  • Feng Shui 2
    Starring: Kris Aquino, Coco Martin
    Produced By: Star Cinema, Kris Aquino Productions
    Directed By: Chito Roño
    my early opinion: Roño, Aquino, Horror compliments each other, I think this will be great.
  • Kubot: The Aswang Chronicles 2
    Starring: Dingdong Dantes, Isabelle Daza
    Produced By: Reality Entertainment, Agostodos Productions, GMA Films
    Directed By: Erik Matti
    my early opinion: Matti crafts his movies amazingly. I’m gonna look forward in seeing this.
  • Muslim Magnum .357
    Starring: ER Ejercito, Sam Pinto
    Produced By: Scenema Concept Int’l, Viva Films
    Directed By: Francis “Jun” Posadas
    my early opinion: Ejercito had been hitting MMFF with amazing films stopping last year. I don’t think it will be as great as his movies like Boy Golden.
  • My Big Bossing
    Starring: Vic Sotto, Ryzza Mae Dizon, Marian Rivera
    Produced By: APT Entertainment, Octo Arts, MZET Entertainment
    Directed By: Joyce Bernal, Marlon Rivera, Tony Reyes
    my early opinion: Nope. Not gonna watch it. I won’t be fooled AGAIN
  • Shake Rattle and Roll XV
    Starring: Dennis Trillo, Carla Abellana, etc
    Produced By: Regal Films
    Directed By: Jerrold Tarog, Dondon Santos, Perci Intalan
    my early opinion: The stop is good for the franchise, please NO MORE.
  • The Amazing Praybeyt Benjamin
    Starring: Vice Ganda, James “Bimby” Aquino-Yap, Richard Yap, etc
    Produced By: Star Cinema, Viva Films
    Directed By: Wenn V. Deramas
    my early opinion: Gonna watch it to be updated with what my classmates would be talking about after the Christmas break and to see if Vice Ganda and Wenn Deramas should still work with each other after this.

This is the list of the movies for this year’s MMFF. And now for my trailer analysis.

  • Bonifacio: Unang Pangulo

    My Analysis:
    I think, the movie would be about Daniel Padilla’s character on a report or something for school about Andres Bonifacio and he tries to convince others that Bonifacio is the true first president of the Philippines and that Aguinaldo would be the antagonist. The trailer itself (without the movie contents) is edited in a crappy way (sorry to say that), wrong font choices, crappy logos (sorry to say that again) but the contents coming from the movie seemed to catch up the mess the editor made (no offense) for the trailer. Amazing production design, direction, writing (I think), effects, cinematography and even the acting.
    Great job! This is a must watch for this season.

  • English Only, Please

    My Analysis:
    Based from the trailer, I think the movie will be awesome. The tandem of Ramsey and Mercado is perfect. They’re like the Judy Ann Santos and Ryan Agoncillo (from the Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo of 2006) of this year’s MMFF. Though there are times Ramsey looks overacting the part where he’s speaking Filipino. For me, there are two ways this movie could end, the cliche way or the tragic way.
    This could win/be the runner up in the Best Picture if there are no sequels (because one criteria for this category is the box office results) or any movie with a great screen story. But for me, this is a fresh take on a classic old tale (that seemed familiar).

  • Feng Shui 2

    My Analysis:
    If there will be a best trailer award, I bet this will win. I liked the combination of amazing story and quality acting of the first film and I bet this film will also have that. The trailer is full of suspense and horror elements. I think horror films should be more like this, films that don’t need special effects to make the watchers scared.
    This is a must watch for horror fanatics and for those who want to get the fullest from their pockets. This is another must watch. 

  • Shake Rattle & Roll XV

    My Analysis:
    This is what I’m talking about special effects and makeup. Great actors, not so good effects. They should invest more on practical effects for their horror elements instead of using special effects and makeup that they don’t know how to use.
    Don’t use special effects and makeup if you don’t know how to use them properly.

  • Kubot: Aswang Chronicles 2

    My Analysis:
    Unlike Shake Rattle & Roll XV, this movie (I’m sure) will implement stunning effects. Though the studio is ready for this kind of CG effects, I don’t think most of the actors are already ready. They still need some training for them to work well with the effects. The film is also filed under the genre comedy. The movie doesn’t gave me scares unlike Feng Shui but its an eye candy.
    Amazing effects, not-so Acting. Comedy? Horror? Oh really?

  • MM.357

    My Analysis:
    From watching the trailer, you can’t really have a haunch on what the movie will be about. Its all shooting and praying and policemen. The poster of this movie is really crappy (sorry to say that again)  but don’t judge it just yet, I think the movie will be good thanks to the performance of E.R. Ejercito and just cross your fingers that Sam Pinto will not fail to level with Ejercito’s acting. The action scenes looked great too.
    Don’t judge the movie by its poster, the trailer is great and curiosity fills my head after watching.

  • My Big Bossing

    My Analysis:
    That intro scene where the fishermen are fishing or something made me expect high. I was really amazed by that scene. But don’t be fooled. From the trailer, you can see that they adapted the sectioned format of Shake Rattle and Roll, and each section is a spoof or a parody of another movie or a tv show, ex: TakTak – Pagpag, Sirena – Marina(Logo). I haven’t seen any product advertisements in the trailer but I expect there will be a lot in the movie, just like in last year’s bossing. But I really adored the advertisement on Sisterakas, the products were placed as a part of the story and the movie’s gags.
    Anyway, the movie is for kids. Kids will love it and Teens won’t, expect that.

  • The Amazing Praybeyt Benjamin

    My Analysis:
    Too many try hard gags. The trailer revealed only some of the story but only some. There are still some parts that are not clear enough to be understood. The trailer shows the overrated and tryhard acting of Richard Yap and Bimby Aquino-Yap. Bimby’s acting could still be better and Richard’s acting is just not good. And why should they replace Jimmy with Al Tantay? Star Cinema and Viva Films should explain this.
    Haven’t we had enough from the first film already? Even though it has the clear message, the story is definitely a Mulan rip off. Based from the trailer, I think Vice Ganda and Wenn Deramas should take a break from film making and come back later when they have something better.

Most movies for this year lacks quality though some like Bonifacio: Unang Pangulo, Feng Shui, Kubot and MM.357 might have something in them that is better than the rest. English Only, Please is also good but not so good. I’ll post my box-office predictions later.

Author: Marlo Mancenido

@schtoofeed | Writer of The Movie Authorities, Seeker of the Best | Game writer and designer | Film fanatic | A campus journalist representing Camarines Norte as part of Collab for more than 2 years.

Leave a Reply

